The Band Lineup

The band that brought you the great Everyday Hurts (#3 on the UK charts), My Oh My, Strange Little Girl, Black Rose

and I'm in Love Again along with the big U.S. hits La-Di-Da and Run Home Girl, is now being led by long time bassist Des Tong.

The band features vocalist Barry James Thomas, Dave Day lead guitar/vocals, Matt Steele keyboards,

Neil Shaw-Hulme, sax/vocals and Steve Gibson on drums.  

Always a challenge to replace their late lead singer Paul Young (also Mike and the Mechanics), who tragically died in 2000, they have finally found the perfect voice in Barry James Thomas, and now press on to a new era with a show which brings together the great hits of the past with the matured and excellent musicianship of the present.

Sad Café fans have warmly and enthusiastically embraced the current line up as the shows continue to bring new and existing fans together to share their love for this incredible band and their music



Longtime Sad Café fan and collaborator Darren Hirst has put together a comprehensive discography of the band’s work.

This is a listener’s (rather than a collector’s) discography. It doesn’t concentrate on any one country’s releases but where a UK copy exists it favours that. It gives details of all the releases in the latest formats.

This 16-page discography contains a wealth of detailed information and is updated as the band produce new work.

As such we’ve published it here as a PDF, so that you always have the latest information.